top of page


The album was inspired by, and sets out to convey, the atmosphere of some quite unique gems of Medieval and Renaissance architecture - with extensive sound design and fusion of electronic ambient, Medieval and ethnic music flavours.
The abbey of Sant'Antimo, near Montalcino in Tuscany, is renowned for its unsurpassed beauty - dating back to the Carolingian era, the building is one of the most sublime examples of Romanesque architecture, set in a typically spellbinding Tuscan landscape. 
The huge ruins of the Cistercian monastery and abbey of San Galgano, in the visually stunning Orcia Valley in Tuscany, constitute a rather unique and atmospheric landmark in any season. 
Waverley abbey is the oldest Cistercian abbey in England, dating back to the early 12th century. Its enigmatic-looking ruins are set in splendid natural surroundings, hiding between the hills of Hampshire. 
Santa Croce in Florence is the largest Franciscan basilica in the world. Its main cloister, which dates back to the 15th century, is a wonderfully tranquil example of Renaissance simplicity and purity. 
The abandoned Capuchin convent hiding in the forest outside the Portuguese town of Sintra was established in the 16th century. It is now a World Heritage Site, known as the Capuchos convent, and it immerses the visitor in its truly unique and enigmatic, but also humbling, ambience. 
The orange tree cloister in Seville, near the largest Gothic cathedral in the world, is a wonderfully tranquil oasis that dates back to Moorish times. The track combines Eastern and Western music elements for the depiction of such confluence of styles and cultures. 
The monastery of San Juan de los Reyes in Toledo is a mesmerising example of Isabelline Gothic architecture, which was founded in 15th century. It is like a solidified Messiaen organ composition... hence the idea and the textures of the track, too. 
The Carmelite convent in Lisbon, known as the Carmo convent, was largely destroyed by the 1755 earthquakes. Its majestic ruins now host an archaeological museum. 









His CDs released by the former PeopleSound and Vitaminic indie labels were noted for the compositional versatility, which created well-received blends of medieval, ethnic and space/ambient elements.


One composition from his debut album was also featured on the compilation CD entitled “Noua Romanie – Rebirth of a Nation”, which was a special project released by Earthtone / Sonic Images Records founded by the legendary Christopher Franke (ex-Tangerine Dream).

Levente (Levente Toth) is a United Kingdom-based synth artist and published photographer.

Born in Transylvania’s Hungarian ethnic minority, his main escapism during the communist

dictatorship was listening to electronic music.

He built his first analogue synth when he was a teenager living under the Ceausescu regime. Music creation has really begun later on in his home studio, which he established after his relocation to the UK in 1995.


1.    Entering

2.    Carolingian Beauty (Sant'Antimo abbey, Tuscany)

3.    Under Revolving Skies (San Galgano abbey ruins, Tuscany) 


4.    Waverley Ruins (Waverley abbey, England)

5.    Renaissance Spirit (Santa Croce, Florence)

6.    Deep Forest Convent (Capuchos convent, Sintra)


7.    Orange Tree Cloister (Seville Cathedral)


8.    Of Kings and Saints (San Juan de los Reyes, Toledo)


9.    Earthquake Remains (Carmo convent, Lisbon)

10.  Exiting                                                                                                                   


All tracks composed, performed and engineered by Levente. 
Sound design (Korg M3 & Yamaha FS1R), music, cover art and photos: Copyright 2017 by Levente. 
All rights reserved. 



Places                                                                                 (2000)

Tales From Time                                                               (2002)

Ex Libris                                                                             (2003)

Explorers                                                                           (2005)

Firmamentum                                                                   (2015)

The Dowland Shores of Philip K. Dick's Universe         (2016)

Empires of Silence                                                            (2017)

Compositions were also featured on the compilations:

  • Noua Romanie – Rebirth of a Nation (2001, Sonic Images / Earthtone Records, USA)

  • Ambient Online Vol. 5 (two featured tracks, 2015, Synphaera / Ambient Online, USA)

  • Ambient Online Vol. 6 (two featured tracks, 2016)

  • Ambient Online Vol. 7  (2017)

  • Fields  (Kahvi Collective, 2016)

  • UWU (United World Underground) anthologies, incl. 25th anniversary special edition





Distribution sites:    CD:     Amazon

                            Digital:  Bandcamp   |    iTunes    |   Spotify    |    CDBaby    |   Routenote    |   GooglePlay  

bottom of page